Meet the residents: Elisa Giuliano

Elisa Giuliano is an architect, choreographer and researcher. In 2020 she was a fellow at Ocean Space, TBA21—Academy. There she continued a performative project, started in 2018 at Het Nieuwe Instituut in Rotterdam, focused on gestures, actions and representations of female workers to exposes the
patriarchal nature of capitalism and examine how modern architecture choreographs and controls bodies.

Meet the residents: Rhiarna Dhaliwal

Rhiarna Dhaliwal is a British-Indian Architectural designer, researcher and educator whose work investigates environmental and political systems. Rhiarna currently co-runs the design studio, ADS8_Data Matter: The Gaming Edition in the school of Architecture at the RCA and is co-founder of the all-female design collective, Xcessive Aesthetics.

Meet the residents: Artem Nikitin

Artem Nikitin is an architect and researcher from Russia. He has worked on projects at different scales and at different stages, from conceptual drawings to construction supervision. His professional interests are the interrelations and interdependencies between urban policy and digital infrastructures, geospatial modelling, and complex adaptive systems.

Exhibition Format Editor by F451: Quentin Creuzet, Domitille Debret

The Exhibition Format Editor developed by F451 (Domitille Debret and Quentin Creuzet) automates the translation of the research conducted in Palazzo delle Zattere into exhibition form, constructing in the process a vocabulary around the concept of non-extractive architecture. The content developed by the research team will be organised and rendered visually by this software, and then printed and hung on the walls of V-A-C Zattere throughout the course of the project.

Non-Extractive Architecture on Dezeen

photo by Marco Cappelletti

Non-extractive architecture will be articulated through several parallel initiatives that will simultaneously activate V–A–C’s Palazzo delle Zattere on multiple levels, transforming it into a research lab in which we will work together with resident researchers who we’re recruiting through open calls. These parallel strands of research, residences, public programs, publishing and broadcasting will intertwine and overlap throughout the year, alternating levels of intensity, and will all be part of an exhibition that will take form and evolve over the course of the year. 

See Dezeen article on the link below:

Non-Extractive Architecture residency program

photo: Artem Nikitin

A group of ten selected residents together with Space Caviar will research case studies, materials, policies, and a network of individuals that will form an ongoing definition of non-extractive architecture. These references printed on sheets of paper and developed within the materials workshop will fill the palazzo as the research grows and expands over the year long program. Five residents have been selected for the current spring residency. The second set of residency program will begin this September 2021 – stay tuned for the open call launching in May 2021.

Non-Extractive Architecture: On Designing without Depletion Vol.1

Non-Extractive Architecture: On Designing without Depletion Vol.1 Edited by Space Caviar Published by V-A-C and Sternberg Press

This illustrated reference handbook sets out to find a new approach to architecture, one based on long-term thinking, material resources and their subsequent landscapes, and the integration of community values into the construction industry. Through a series of essays by architects, geographers, historians, economists, urbanists, and philosophers, Non-Extractive Architecture: On Designing without Depletion Vol.1 explores whether an alternative paradigm in design is possible, and what values it might be founded on.

Edited by Space Caviar with an introduction by Joseph Grima and contributions by Dele Adeyemo, Benjamin Bratton, Stephanie Carlisle, Emanuele Coccia, Keller Easterling, Swarnabh Ghosh, Macarena Gómez-Barris, Phineas Harper, Elsa Hoover, Jane Hutton, Interiors Agency, Elisa Iturbe, Luke Jones, Chiara Di Leone, Armin Linke, Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, Nicholas Pevzner, Maria Smith and Mark Wigley.

Published by V–A–C and Sternberg Press. 2021

You can buy the book here